Croatian Story earns Honorable Mention in 2013 SF&F Translation Awards

Tonight at Liburnicon, the youngest Croatian SF convention held in Opatija, the winners of the 2013 SF&F Translation Awards were announced and among them Zoran Vlahovic’s “Every Time We Say Goodbye” (translated from the Croatian by Tatjana Jambrišak, Goran Konvicni, and the author) got an Honorable Mention in the short form category. The Association for the Recognition of Excellence in SF & F Translation (ARESFFT), a California Non-Profit Corporation funded entirely by donations, has been awarding these since 2010 in a effort to gain attention for works of speculative fiction translated into English.
ARESFFT Board member Cheryl Morgan and convention Guest of Honor, Jacqueline Carey annouced this year’s winners for works published in 2012 in two categories: Long Form and Short Form. Zoran Vlahovic was in the audience and thrilled to hear his story was selected for the honorable mention.

The long form winner is Atlas: The Archeology of an Imaginary City by Kai-cheung Dung, translated from the Chinese by Anders Hansson, Bonnie S. McDougall, and the author (Columbia University Press)

The short form winner is “Augusta Prima” by Karin Tidbeck translated from the Swedish by the author (Jagannath: Stories, Cheeky Frawg)

The jury has additionally elected to award three honorable mentions in each category.

Long Form Honorable Mentions:

  • Belka, Why Don’t You Bark? by Hideo Furukawa, translated from the Japanese by Michael Emmerich (Haikasoru)
  • Kaytek the Wizard by Janusz Korczak, translated from the Polish by Antonia Lloyd-Jones (Penlight)
  • Roadside Picnic by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky, translated from the Russian by Olena Bormashenko (Chicago Review Press)

Short Form Honorable Mentions:

  • “Every Time We Say Goodbye” by Zoran Vlahovic, translated from the Croatian by Tatjana Jambrišak, Goran Konvicni, and the author (Kontakt: An Anthology of Croatian SF, Darko Macan and Tatjana Jambrišak, editors, SFera)
  • “A Hundred Ghosts Parade Tonight” by Xia Jia, translated from the Chinese by Ken Liu (Clarkesworld #65)
  • “A Single Year” by Csilla Kleinheincz, translated from the Hungarian by the author (The Apex Book of World SF #2, Lavie Tidhar, editor, Apex Book Company)

The winning authors and their translators will each receive an inscribed plaque and a cash prize of $350. Authors and translators of the honorable mentions will receive certificates.  The money for the prize fund was obtained primarily through a generous donation by Society for the Furtherance & Study of Fantasy & Science Fiction (SF3). SF3 is the parent non-profit corporation of Wiscon, the feminist science fiction convention.
The jury for the awards was James & Kathryn Morrow (Chairs); Felice Beneduce, Alexis Brooks de Vita, Stefan Ekman, Martha Hubbard, Ekaterina Sedia, Kari Sperring, and Aishwarya Subramanian.

“Anyone who doubts the vitality of worldwide science fiction and fantasy,” said Gary K. Wolfe, President of ARESFFT, “could do worse than to use this impressive list of winners and honorable mentions as a reading list. The breadth and variety of the translated works themselves, as well as their venues of publication, attest to the valuable efforts of many to bring a genuine international dimension to genres that have sometimes (and sometimes accurately) been described as provincial in attitude.”



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.