Winners of 2012 Shirley Jackson Awards

shirleyjacksonawardsThe winners of the 2012 Shirley Jackson Awards were announced on Sunday, July 14th at Readercon 24, Conference on Imaginative Literature, in Burlington, Massachusetts. Readercon 24 Guest of Honor Maureen McHugh acted as host.

The Shirely Jackson Awards are named in honour of the American author most famous for 1959 novel The Haunting of Hill House, filmed as The Haunting, quite excellently in 1963 and rather less so in 1999. Many SF readers and especially fans of short stories know and love her for her seminal  “The Lottery”. (There is a podcast of the story with commentary in the New Yorker, where the story was originally published).
The award that bears her name recognizes both genre and non genre writers who have, in the opinion of a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics done outstanding work in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

Kaaron_Warren-241x300Among this year’s winners is Australian author Kaaron Warren, whom I have the honour and pleasure to meet in person during my GUFF trip. She was one of the guests of honour at Conflux 9, where she totally lived up to her reputation of being the absolutely nicest lady in the world who writes very, very scary stories.  She wrote about the convention on her blog.

Congratulations to all the honorees and winners!



  • Winner: “Sky,” Kaaron Warren (Through Splintered Walls, Twelfth Planet Press)
  • 28 Teeth of Rage, Ennis Drake (Omnium Gatherum Media)
  • Delphine Dodd, S.P. Miskowski (Omnium Gatherum Media)
  • I’m Not Sam, Jack Ketchum and Lucky McKee (Sinister Grin Press/ Cemetery Dance Publications)
  • The Indifference Engine, Project Itoh (Haikasoru/VIZ Media LLC)


  • Winner: “Reeling for the Empire,” Karen Russell (Tin House, Winter 2012)
  •  “The Crying Child,” Bruce McAllister (originally “The Bleeding Child,” Cemetery Dance #68)
  • “The House on Ashley Avenue,” Ian Rogers (Every House is Haunted, ChiZine Publications)
  • “Wild Acre,” Nathan Ballingrud (Visions, Fading Fast, Pendragon Press)
  • “The Wish Head,” Jeffrey Ford (Crackpot Palace, William Morrow)



  • Winner: Crackpot Palace, Jeffrey Ford (William Morrow)
  • Errantry, Elizabeth Hand (Small Beer Press)
  • The Pottawatomie Giant and Other Stories, Andy Duncan (PS Publishing)
  • Remember Why You Fear Me, Robert Shearman (ChiZine Publications)
  • The Woman Who Married a Cloud, Jonathan Carroll (Subterranean Press)
  • Windeye, Brian Evenson (Coffee House Press)


  • WinnerExotic Gothic 4:  Postscripts #28/29, edited by Danel Olson (PS Publishing)
  • 21st Century Dead, edited by Christopher Golden (St. Martin’s)
  • Black Wings II, edited by S. T. Joshi (PS Publishing)
  • Night Shadows, edited by Greg Herren and J. M.  Redmann (Bold Strokes Books)
  • Shadow Show: All-New Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury, edited by Sam Weller and Mort Castle (William Morrow)



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.