Croatia wins two ESFS Awards

thumb.phpLast Sunday at the 36th Eurocon, Shamrokon, in Dublin, the European Science Fiction Society announced the recipients of the 2014 ESFS Awards. It has taken me a while to blog about it – doing two cons in a week and a half with a husband and a four-year-old in tow and working half-time does not leave a lot of time for blogging.¬† ūüôā I am very proud Croatia has taken two – a Spirit of Dedication for Ana Miljanic and Co for their adaptation of Dr. Horrible‚Äôs Sing-Along Blog and an Encouragement Award to the very talented Irena Hartmann whose Puppets you can read if you were lucky enough to get your hands on a special Worldcon/Eurocon edition of Parsek.

I am equally proud to have lost the title of best promoter of SF to Dave Lally. After all, am in very good company among the losers in this category! (And squeee! I did manage to chat to Brian Aldiss at Loncon and take some messages for the Istrakon people from him).

The winners of the the 2014 ESFS Awards are:

European Grand Master:

  • Jim Fitzpatrick ‚Äď Ireland

Hall of Fame:

  • Best Author: Wolfgang Jeschke¬†‚ÄstGermany
  • Best Artist: Jim Fitzpatrick¬†‚ÄstIreland
  • Best Publisher: Angry Robot¬†‚ÄstUnited Kingdom
  • Best Magazine: Cosmoport¬†‚ÄstBelarus
  • Best Translator: Ms. Kersti Juva¬†‚ÄstFinland
  • Best Promoter of Science Fiction: Dave Lally¬†‚ÄstIreland

These Awards are granted just once by the European Committee by secret ballot from the nominations submitted by the National Delegates.

Spirit of Dedication:

  • Artist: Alexander Prodan¬†‚ÄstUkraine
  • Best Performance: Adaption of Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog¬†‚ÄstCroatia
  • Best SF Website: Geek Ireland¬†‚ÄstIreland
  • Best Fanzine: Darker ‚Äď Russia
  • Best creator of children‚Äôs science fiction or fantasy books:
  • Ois√≠n McGann*¬†‚ÄstIreland
  • Vladimir Arenev*¬†‚ÄstUkraine

*A tie occurred and both creators are awarded.

Encouragement Awards

  • Marco Rauch¬†‚ÄstAustria
  • Victor Martinovich¬†‚ÄstBelarus
  • Genoveva Detelinova¬†‚ÄstBulgaria
  • Irena Hartmann¬†‚ÄstCroatia
  • M√≠la Linc¬†‚ÄstCzech Republic
  • Anthea West¬†‚ÄstIreland
  • Robert M. Wegner¬†‚ÄstPoland
  • Rui Alex¬†‚ÄstPortugal
  • Eugen Cadaru¬†‚ÄstRomania
  • ????? ????????/Roman Shmarakov¬†‚ÄstRussia
  • Lenka ҆tiblar√≠kov√°¬†‚ÄstSlovakia
  • Igor Silivra¬†‚ÄstUkraine

These Awards are granted according to the suggestions from the National Delegates to a young writer or artist from each European Country



One thought on “Croatia wins two ESFS Awards

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.